Nobel Prizes

George E. Smith

Nobel Prize in 2009 in the field of physics

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2009 was divided, one half awarded to Charles K. Kao for groundbreaking achievements concerning the transmission of light in fibers for optical communication,the other half jointly to Willard S. Boyle and George E. Smith for the invention of an imaging semiconductor circuit ? the CCD sensor.